A Guide to Ubud…

There is so much to do in Ubud and of the three places I spent time in (Kuta, Ubud, Seminyak) it was definitely my most favourite. I spent four nights here in the Pandok Permata Homestay, maybe a night too long if you’re pushed for time but you could also definitely spend longer here if time, and money, is to your advantage. The hostel was beyond what I expected, beautiful intricate balinese furnishings and impeccably clean rooms with the most serene of views. The family who owned the place were forever happy to help and organised for a tour of some nearby hotspots for us at a ridiculously reasonable price. And a bonus? They have dogs! And the cutest little puppy full of hugs and playfulness.

Places to visit:

  • Jalan Gautama -My favourite little side street, quirky and busy with the yummiest and most creative eateries, lots of vegan choices on flavoursome menus too, there’ll be a couple spots reviewed in my Bali vegan food guide.
  • Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
    Please excuse the face, I was mid scream.

    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • The Monkey Forest – A rare moment when human’s are the spectacle.  I was honest to goodness attacked by two of the cutest little shits when I tried to grab my camera out of my backpack. I saw a few keys glittering in small, almost human, hands and a few of the more sinister little guys terrorising tourists keen to take a close up of their deceptively innocent faces.Processed with VSCO with c1 presetOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  • Tegenungan Waterfall – A great stop for that pretentious “traveller” snap and quick dip, we timed it right, getting there just before an onslaught of tourists. img_8299screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-15-14-02
  • Tirta Empul Holy Water Temple – This is the place to go for that famous holy bathing snap us tourists go nuts for. But make sure to wear something that covers your knees, or buy your own sarong. You get given one, free of charge at the temple entrance but you’re not allowed to get them wet, so I missed out on actually going into the holy bath.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  • Goa Gajah Temple – Or “Elephant Cave” temple. All of the temples we visited were awe inspiring to me, it’s such a peaceful space and all of them connect with the natural landscape in such a beautiful way. This one in particular had me feeling the Indiana Jones vibes.img_8322img_8330
  • Tegalalang Rice Terrace -One of the most iconic Bali landscapes, I think. I’ve seen this space splashed all over travel instagrams for years. As with everything “touristic” though, you really do have to see it and experience it for yourself.

I’m pretty sure none of these things are new to you if you’ve ever been to, or have planned to, head to Bali but I wanted to share them anyways because I had one of my favourite travel experiences so far touring through them all. Happy travels to anyone headed to Bali soon, it’s beyond magical and by far my favourite place I’ve been too.

 

P.S. If you’re interested in seeing some of my less than average travel photography then check out My “photography” blog

8 thoughts on “A Guide to Ubud…

  1. Wow! I’m currently living long term in Ubud, you really nailed the feel of this place. Incidentally my fiancee made the same face when a monkey jumped on her! We actually have never been to Tegalalang Rice Terrace, so I’m gonna put it on the list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

