Melbourne: Vegan Foodie Paradise…

P2200569P2200570

P2200576
The chocolate chip cookie of dreams, seriously I dream about it.

Invita was a chance find by my friend Kate on our first stroll through the Queen Victoria Market. A little cafe on the outskirts of the food court hosting vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and Paleo foods. The majority were in fact vegan and I tried a whole bunch of sweet treats and yummy wraps over the three days. My favourite was this cookie above and also the almond milk latte I had! The staff are lovely and were patient with all of my vegan enquiries.

P2210715P2210722P2210727

The menu at Sisters of Soul was a dream, so many Asian inspired flavours (which are my most favourite) and though not every option was vegan, about 90% were. I went for stir fried veggies with a satay sauce and rice, it was so good. Not too oily, not too heavy. The only gripe me and my friends had was with the service from the floor staff, they weren’t entirely friendly or helpful, didn’t really go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Usually I wouldn’t complain about bad service, I work in customer service and I get it, but we weren’t causing any trouble and it just seemed unnecessary. The kitchen staff however, who we could see cooking away, seemed to be having a blast. Despite the service I would recommend this to anyone, even my none vegan friends were delighted.

IMG_7017IMG_7023IMG_7024

Take one hangry girl on a long walk from the centre of the city and a road of half closed, half not up to scratch restaurants and a consequently fed up attitude and you might just stumble into one of your favourite restaurants ever. We had no clue it was all vegan, though it advertised vegan eats, we assumed there were just a couple options. Turns out the whole menu is vegan. I went for chips and dip, the chips were the perfect amount of salt and crunch, a beautiful ode to the tortilla chip and the dip was cashew cheese and black beans and I am not getting carried away when I use the term ‘foodgasm’ I actually think my mate Amy said it once or twice over her bruschetta. It tasted, to me and my two year vegan tastebuds, like any of the insane nacho cheeses I’ve ever tried. Love is what it is, love. And this is one of the main reasons that I have to live in Melbourne.

I am always open to vegan food suggestions, so if you have any for anywhere up the East Coast of Australia be sure to let me know!

One thought on “Melbourne: Vegan Foodie Paradise…

Leave a Reply

